Mark Pace named 2021 John Penn Citizen of the Year

Mark Pace was named the 2021 John Penn Citizen of the Year at the chamber’s 2022 Annual Membership Meeting & Banquet.  Annette Myers, 2018 recipient, recognized Mark at the banquet and Cecilia Wheeler, outgoing board president, is pictured at left with Mark.

The Outstanding Citizen Award or Citizen of the Year award was presented in years past. In 1996, the committee created a new name for the award to honor Granville County’s first and perhaps most outstanding citizen. Since then, it has been presented as the JOHN PENN CITIZEN OF THE YEAR AWARD in honor of our Granville County citizen who was one of North Carolina’s signers of the Declaration of Independence. On January 10, 1936, the very first state highway marker was erected. That first marker was placed in the town of Stovall to commemorate the life of this political leader and signer of the Declaration of Independence – John Penn, a native of Granville County.

This prestigious award recognizes individuals whose volunteer service has made a tremendous impact on the county.